Pro Writing, Quizzes, Process and End Result

John Scalzi takes apart a quiz on “are you, or are you not, a professional writer” and talks about process, end results, and – to some extent – the insecurities of freelancing.

Whatever

By way of my friend Mary Anne Mohanraj, I come across this list of questions which purports to tell you whether or not you are a professional writer. The author, Lisa Morton, writes, “Ideally, you should be answering ‘yes’ to all ten, but I’ll cut you a little slack and say you can get off with 80% and still call yourself professional.'”

Well, I’ve always wondered if I was a professional writer, so I decided to take the quiz. My answers:

1. No. My workplace is messy because I am lazy, period.
2. No. I don’t write in the evenings, and I like seeing friends.
3. No. I rarely watch TV anyway.
4. Yes.
5. No. Vacations mean I am not working. If I am working it’s not a vacation.
6. No. I like my friends and care about their lives and our friendship.
7. No. My…

View original post 612 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

