Tired / Not-Tired (Distractions, Procrastinating, and Getting Back At It)

It’s been three days since my last confession stint at novel-building.
I spent nine hours on Sunday working away at The Novel, sorting out which plot element corresponds to which event and how/why it fits and then tayloring things so that the setting of the scene reflects the actions the mood there-of, and so-on.
It’s coming along nicely, but I’ve also been ignoring it since I went to bed on Sunday night. Part of this is, of course, that the rest of Life needs to be taken care of (the house needs looking after, the for-pay work needs to get done[1]), and part of it is that I’m Tired. I’m Tiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiired.
And, yes, I do feel that whiny. My wife isn’t sleeping well, which means I’m not sleeping well; the weather’s been cold over night and I keep thinking there are Things in the bed with us because my nerves are firing on overdrive; my neck is bothering me; yadda-yadda-yadda.
 
The truth of the matter is that it won’t be long, if I don’t go back to work on this, before I just want to run-and-hide from it rather than picking it up again. (This is where having a deadline – in my case, the fact that my guide-book is due back at the library in ten days – is really helpful). So, since I have An Event in the Glebe this evening (and will, gods willing, be able to pick up groceries after the fact), my Plan is to swing up to the bridgehead around the corner from The Venue and scribble for a couple of hours before I need to turn up for the show.
Wish me luck! 🙂
 
 
TTFN,
A.
 
 
[1] And did! I submitted my second bunch of for-pay copywriting on Monday. yesterday was spent half on cleaning the house and the other half on doing RHO work so that I actually earn my $300/month for July. Today, though, has been all about the blogging. Two for Urban Meliad, one for Syrens, and now this.

Leave a comment

Filed under prose, writing

Leave a Reply

