Paid Work! :-D (Landing Pages)

Okay, this is a microscopic bit of news, and it’s about copy-writing, so not exactly Amazing Creative Gold going on here, BUT: I got hired to write a bunch of landing pages for an Australian moving company, and I did the work and I just got paid.
I’m still so very, very much at the point where actually getting paid (in money, no less, rather than Contributor Copies or store credit or whatever) for my written work is Kind Of Amazing. Even if it works out to hovering around minimum wage.
Explanation: Given the number of pages I wrote and how long it took me and how much I was getting paid per page… I was making somewhere between $10 and $13 per hour. Which, seriously? Is pretty much what I make doing temp work, so it’s nothing unusual, and is a good economic shot-in-the-arm as far as I’m concerned.
PLUS
Writing! πŸ˜€
 
Seriously. Even though I was gritting my teeth through most of it, and even though I was honestly worried about whether or not this company was hiring people literally half a world away from where they were located (their dollar is worth less than mine on a global scale, fyi) and offering an acceptable wage for the work, because they had no intention of actually paying up (… I don’t know. There are so many scams on Kijiji and Craigslist, but this one looked legit enough because they weren’t offering a huge amount of money. I’m glad this turned out to be the case). Despite all of that, and despite my having been willing to put it down to “a learning experience”[1] if it turned out to be a Big Scam, I’m still really glad to have found the ad, applied for the job, and got the job because it meant I was professionally doing what I do anyway, which is write all the goddamn time. πŸ™‚
 
So that’s my joyful elation for the morning. I now have an extra $130 in the bank (YAY!) and am feeling that much better about the world. πŸ™‚
They have asked if I’d be interested in doing more work along similar lines, which: Yeah. I would. πŸ™‚ Looking forward to it, even. πŸ™‚
 
Anyway. For the moment, I’m going to hie myself to the Byward Market where I will sort out more Novel-Related stuff (Moral Decisions and similar), hit up the Sassy Bead for some bits and bobs for a proto-comission (I’m iffy as to whether or not that one’s even going to happen, honestly), and then meet a friend for coffee.
But mostly: Writing.
YAY! πŸ˜€
 
 
TTFN,
A.
 
 
[1] For example: Always send an invoice. I’m so used to modeling, where you get paid in cash and there is no paperwork involved (most of the time) or where, when there is paperwork involved, it involved me filing out a form that’s provided by my employer. Either way. This thing where I create a bill and send it off (and it doesn’t get ignored!) is still – weirdly – a new thing for me. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Getting Paid, writing

Leave a Reply

